Space Captain Smith by Toby Frost

In the 25th Century, the British Space Empire is facing the Ghast Empire – evil ant soldiers bent on domination and extermination of all humanoid life.

Captain Isambard Smith is the dashing, courageous, and somewhat idiotic commander of the light freighter John Pym; destined to take on the Ghast because no one else is available. Together with his bold crew—a skull-collecting alien lunatic, an android pilot who is actually a fugitive sex toy, and a hamster called Gerald—he must collect new-age herbalist Rhianna Mitchell from the laid back New Francisco orbiter and bring her back to safety in the Empire. It seems simple enough, except the Ghasts want her too.

If he is to get back to Blighty alive, Smith must defeat void sharks, a universe-weary android assassin, and John Gilead, psychopathic naval officer from the fanatically religious Republic of New Eden before facing his greatest enemy: a ruthless alien warlord with a very large behind.

I will admit right now that I loved Space Captain Smith. I have been a fan of the sci-fi genre for a very long time. Having read and watched numerous movies and series, Space Captain Smith joins a hallowed crew in my heart.

At times glorious at others campy, it is like Frost took all the best of the most beloved sci-fi series and threw them in a blender. As I read I noticed nods to Star Trek, Blade Runner, the Matrix, Predator, and even I think a bit of Firefly.

This was a fun read, enjoyable to see the worlds we know so well turned on their ear. Fans of Christopher Moore and Terry Pratchett will likely enjoy this book. Fans of science fiction and comedy in general will adore this book. I know I certainly did.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s